Robert Black

http://www.amazon.com/Bad-Metal-01-Wrecked-ebook/dp/B007GEYHKW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1336195475&sr=8-1

This is one of the first indie books I’ve read, and I was pleasantly surprised by it.  I admit, I picked it up because I ran across a post by the author requesting feedback and I thought “what the heck, I’ll give it a read – if I don’t like it, I won’t finish it and nobody will ever know.”  Well, I liked it – I read it in a day (it’s really more of a novella than a novel) and although I don’t usually jump into science fiction, I really enjoyed this story.

The characters are well-developed and the author does a good job of “showing, not telling”.  The scenes are quick-paced and the plot is clean without a lot of back story or side issues which helps the story to move right along.

I’m not really into robots, but this was well done and character driven with a plausible story line that didn’t frustrate me with improbability or lengthy explanations (okay, there was one that I could have done without, but it didn’t take me out of the story enough to really even notice it beyond the first two sentences).

If you like science fiction and are looking for a quick, enjoyable read, check this one out.

One thought on “Bad Metal 01: Wrecked by Robert Black

Leave a Reply

