I’ve wrestled with this for a few weeks now and I’m going to go back to Amazon’s KDP Select Program for my first novel and the accompanying short story…why?  Two reasons:  One I’m not getting very far with other distribution channels.  I can’t find my book on Barnes and Noble or any of the other sites without typing in the title…I’m lost in the droves of other books that have been self-published and I don’t like being lost in a crowd.

The second reason is the hot debate on what is a fair price for an ebook.  While surfing Amazon, I discovered many e-books from “the big 6” publishing houses were tagged by customers with categories like “Price gouging” “publisher price too high” and “outrageously priced e-book”.  Now that’s a community I want to be part of – a community that lets the publishing houses know that we now have OPTIONS – we can pay 3.99 (or less) for a good story by an indie author or we can buy at that price from some traditionally published authors who are now self-publishing their back lists or new stories to get a wider audience.  The best part?  Amazon is letting those tags stay up…they’re not taking them down!  Now THAT’s a company I want to work with.

While I don’t write to make myself rich (although that would be nice) I do write so people read my stuff…nobody can read a book that they can’t find.  I work a full time job, have a family, and pursue many hobbies other than writing…I don’t have time in my world to make myself a marketing genius and quite frankly, I don’t really have any desire to do that.  I like my writing blog, but I generally post photos on my other blog because I also like photography – why do I do the photography more than the writing?  Because every time I write a blog post about writing, it makes me feel guilty that I haven’t done any real marketing – but if I’m doing marketing all the time, then I’m not writing.  It’s become a vicious circle.

For me, KDP seems the best option.  I can write, upload, do a free weekend to generate sales (it works for some odd reason, although there are a host of people out there that HATE free weekends and say those of us that participate are hurting sales…that’s a debate for another time).  I can get my books read and do what I set out to do – entertain people with a good story.  That is why I write, after all.

Maybe I’ll feel differently in a few months, but for now I’m taking my books off the other sites and enrolling in KDP Select again.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Going back to KDP Select

Leave a Reply

