Because I’ve reviewed a JA Konrath novel, I was asked if I would be interested in reading Death Match.  Being a fan of the Dead Kennedys and Adam Ant, I was instantly curious about Spar…who doesn’t love a dysfunctional punk rocker?  On page two I was hooked.  The story moves right along and the characters are quirky, the dialogue funny, and the scenes well crafted.  It is a story worth reading, and you will like the characters you should and despise those that deserve it – with a few hidden surprises thrown in just to make sure you’re paying attention.  I really enjoyed the story from beginning to end and plan on reading more Spar Battersea novels.

I’m not a wrestling fan – but I enjoyed the introduction to that world that this book provided.  I won’t be watching wrestling anytime in the near future, but I wouldn’t let a lack of interest in the sport stop you from reading this.  It’s central to the plot, but Jason Ridler makes it interesting and compelling.

With that being written I do have to mention there are some editing problems which are distracting and frustrating.  Generally, more than three big errors makes me throw my hands up in the air and delete the book from my kindle, but this book had enough going for it that I stayed with it – and enjoyed it despite the problems.  I think it’s worth four stars because I would have loved the book if the editing were better.

I should also warn about strong language in this book – but those words don’t bother me and they were used by a character that I would expect to sprinkle profanity liberally throughout his conversation.  If you’re easily offended (or maybe only somewhat easily offended), then it might not be the book for you.

 

Leave a Reply

