So there I was, downtrodden about the lack of new sales of Elementary Magic on Amazon so I flipped over to facebook and looked at Pixel of Ink and saw a nice woman in a sombrero commenting that she is a fantasy book reader and she was “still waiting” for fantasy books to be mentioned on Pixel of Ink’s bargains…

Yesterday, I read a post about marketing for indies – I think it was on Author Mingle, and someone asked what they should be doing to promote their books. The reply was: tell one person per day about your book. Sounded simple enough, but it’s not something I generally do (my own neurosis, I know…)

So I debated telling the nice lady with the sombrero about my book – currently priced at 99 cents on Amazon, but I didn’t want to post it on Pixel of Ink so I clicked on the nice lady’s name, went to her page, and typed the comment. I was at the end of the line, so I hit my return key out of habit and BAM posted it on her page.

Then the little icon lit up at the bottom of the screen – saying it would be posted on Pixel of Ink as well –

OH, CRAP! Now I’ve done it.

Feeling like a complete jerk because I honestly, honestly, honestly didn’t mean to do that I then proceeded to send a message to the nice lady with the sombrero apologizing for my bad manners and obviously poor technological skills and now I know I will obsess for the next twenty-four hours that I have committed some horrible sin that will end my writing career.

So why am I posting about it? Because I haven’t been able to stop laughing since I did it. Not only do I feel like a moron – and have apologized for being a moron – but I did do one thing right: I told somebody about my book. Somebody who think’s I’m a crazy neurotic compulsive apologizer who should have my keyboard locked up, but I told someone and after all, the first step is admitting you have a problem. Will I tell somebody about it tomorrow? Only if I don’t get a barrage of hate mail from Pixel of Ink.

UPDATE: I figured out how to delete my accidental post and sent an email to Pixel of Ink to announce my sale the legitimate way. The funny thing is, while I was trying to figure out how to do that, someone bought the book and sent me a message on facebook πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “A technology induced “oops” moment – one of many, if I’m being honest…

  1. This is Author Mingle and I stumbled upon your blog. I would love to share it with other authors. Do you mind if I post it? I know they would love reading this. Thank you!

  2. I, too, have a hard time telling people about my books. I’m not comfortable tooting my own horn, and, of course, there’s the fear that they might not like it. I have, however, set a goal to give someone a bookmark every day. Haven’t succeeded in that, but I have given bookmarks to strangers I find reading in a restaurant and sales people in department stores. I have to force myself to do this! You never know what will spark a chain reaction. And at least it’s getting the word out to a real person who might be a real reader!

    1. What a great idea! You’re killing two birds with one stone: marketing your book and overcoming the fear of tooting your own horn – it doesn’t get better than that! Good luck with your book.

  3. Oh dear! Is there somewhere someone can learn what not to do? It didn’t even occur to me there were rules like this. (Thankfully, I don’t think I’ve crossed any lines yet because you’re the first person I’ve posted to that wasn’t a friend before I knew they had a blog.)

    1. I think it’s much more amusing to commit unintentional sins and I plan on blundering my way through this whole process – if nothing else, it gives me stuff to write about. There might not be rules about these things, but I’m compulsively polite and apologetic with a touch of paranoia thrown in to round things out. Welcome to my world πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

