I know a lot about Republican Rome.  I’ve read Plutarch, Dio, Livy, Tacitus, and Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series multiple times.  Throw in a little Anthony Everett and Steven Saylor and I’m pretty well versed…or so I thought.  I am neck deep the process of putting my first foray into historical fiction together and have discovered that my knowledge is hard to put down chronologically in a way that lets the events of the time period support my story.  I have spreadsheets, outlines, note cards, and powerpoints – oh my!  So with this being said…I salute the authors of historical fiction.  My dear Ms. McCullough, I had no idea how difficult this would be. 

Leave a Reply

