Calendar ImageI have all of these great ideas for marketing my new release as well as my “back list” but I have resolved to not be “hit or miss” with this marketing thing anymore. That means I need a logical and consistent approach to get all of my ideas accomplished. I have actually set it all up on my outlook calendar – because I’m a visual person, I need to see every step laid out in black and white (and blue and gold).  This is the rough draft of my calendar – laying out when things need to get done. 

What I haven’t put in yet is when I’m going to do the things that are on this list – that’s a whole separate set of tasks.  It’s one thing to post but I find it helpful to write my posts ahead of time or even just jot down a rough idea of what I’m posting about.  Sitting down and facing a task that says “post” is pretty daunting because then I not only have the pressure to get it done, I have to compose each post.  What generally ends up happening is I get frustrated or run out of time and things don’t get posted – then the next time, I feel like I’ll never get it done because my last experience was so negative.  My new resolution is to compose my posts on the days where nothing is written in the calendar.  We’ll see how that goes. 

The very fact that I’ve already posted about this new marketing strategy is a good sign – it means I’m taking the challenge seriously!  See…that’s PROGRESS!

2 thoughts on “And today I made a calendar…

    1. Yes, and I’ve been meaning to post them! I’ll get on that today. I’ve been “flying by the seat of my pants” for two years and I’m trying to nail this whole thing down so I don’t feel like I’m re-creating the wheel every 6 months or so because that’s overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

